My day with Tony Kaye

For those of you who know who Tony Kaye is I can assume you are aware of some of the folklore surrounding him. To give a little background on Mr. Kaye for those of you who don’t know. He was a highly sought after commercial director in the 80’s and early 90’s working everywhere around the world with all the top brands. He went on and directed a little known movie called American History X. He also has a documentary on abortion called Lake of Fire a movie I believe he worked for 10 years to make. He is coming out early this year with a new one called Detachment with Adrian Brody. Which he said in the car while I was driving (not to me) gives an outstanding performance.

Anyway, I was aware of the persona Tony Kaye has and when I was given the opportunity to drive him for a commercial I was working on I was intrigued and apprehensive all at the same time.  When I picked Tony up at the Airport with his guitar in hand I soon realized the stories I have heard my have been embellished or possibly people just didn’t understand him.  He wasn’t some demanding director who demanded ludicrous things, he is simply an artist. This is when I took the opportunity to pick his brain. I got to asked him about inspiration, art, music, anything you could want to talk to somebody about when they are an accomplished artist. One thing I learned from him is just to make your art and not give a shit what anyone thinks. Later in the week he said something which I thought was a defining quote of the trip.

“When you do what you love, you’re doing God’s work.”

Now I don’t think of God in the traditional sense of the word, but rather it is the Self. So do the work which satisfies you and you will create work which speaks to everyone. They may not like it, but you will get a sense of accomplishment far greater than when you sacrifice your work at the cost of integrity. And here is some photos of Tony.

4 Comments

Filed under My Work

4 responses to “My day with Tony Kaye

  1. Amanda

    Great work Shaun! Love the isolation these shots suggest. Judging from your description, however, I don’t think this guy is ever alone.

  2. Kendallac

    NO! Terrible work – Amanda!
    You’re killing me! Or as they say in the Philippines – Pina Patey Mo Ako.
    You’ve got to edit that shit. PROOFREADPROOFREADPOOFREAD!!!
    It was however, good to see an update.

    I am only a humble fan of this blog.

  3. hahahahaha kendall.

    i personally really like the hotel room shot.

Leave a Reply

